My previous article discussed the top 10 ways to attract web traffic to your blog however there are many other strategies you can also use that are also very effective. The key is try a few strategies that work well for you then focus on using them consistently.
10 advanced strategies to attract web traffic to your blog
1. Write and publish articles
The top article directories receive millions of visitors a day and get indexed by the search engines almost immediately. If you write and submit articles consistently to these directories you will build an ongoing stream of visitors to your blog. This happens because newsletter publishers constantly visit article directories to find fresh content. You can also increase the rankings of you blog or article by including a link to it at the end of your article.
To learn more about how to write, organize and submit articles pick up a copy of my ebook: Article Marketing Strategies
2. Guest blogging
Blog owners are constantly looking for new content. It’s difficult to always come up with a new topic and content that will interest readers. A guest blogger adds a fresh perspective to a blog plus you can include a link to your own blog at the end of the blog post. If the blog is a popular one you’ll receive lots of new traffic. Make sure the content you offer is unique (not published elsewhere) and well written.
3. Submit to search engine directories
Besides submitting your blog to blog and rss directories submit your blog to free and paid directories.
For more information read:
Which search engine directories should I submit to?
4. Give away a free report or ebook
People love to receive free information particularly if it contains valuable information that you could easily charge for. Create a report of 10-20 pages then offer it to your newsletter subscribers, joint venture partners, forums, blogs, ebook directories and resource box of your articles, etc. Include links to your blog (product or newsletter) throughout the report to generate traffic to it.
For information read:
How to Create a Report
5. Write a press release
Your press release should contain content that is newsworthy such as a story about your product and what it will do for the customer. Select one of your blog posts that is newsworthy, expand upon it then convert it into a press release.
For more information on the benefits of a press release, how to write one and where to submit it read:
6. Create videos of your articles
Not all people like to read content in its written form. Many prefer visual and audio presentations. To convert your articles into videos either read them in front of a video camera or create slides of them.
For an easy and affordable way to put videos on your web site purchase a copy of VideoWebWizard:
After creating your video distribute it to video sharing web sites to attract tons of new visitors that wouldn’t normally read your articles.
For a list for video sharing web sites read:
Where to Upload Your Videos
7. Do teleseminar presentations
You can use your blog articles to hold your own teleseminar. Google “web conferencing software” to find software to run your teleseminar. String a series of related articles together to present to your audience. Make an announcement on your blog, joint venture partners and newsletter subscribers about your teleseminar. Be sure to mention your blog URL several times throughout your presentation to gain lots of new visitors.
8. Use Social bookmarking
Social Bookmarking refers to web based applications that enables you to store bookmarks online instead of in your favorites or bookmarks on your computer. The immediate advantage of this is that you can access your bookmarked sites from any computer or mobile phone.
To make it easy for visitors to bookmark your posts download and install this plugin for Word Press:
This plugin currently supports the bookmarking sites:
Blinklist, Bloglines, Blogmarks, Digg, del.icio.us, Facebook, Furl, Ma.gnolia, NewsVine, Reddit, StumbleUpon, Technorati.
9. Set up an autoresponder
It’s well known in Internet Marketing you need to touch base with a visitor several times before they act (ie subscribe to a newsletter or buy a product). An autoresponder enables you to automatically build a relationship with your visitor over several days or weeks by sending them new information.
Instead of only contacting them once and losing them forever you have the potential to create a life long relationship.
The most robust and well known autoresponder service is Aweber. They even give you a free test drive or get started for $19.00 a month.
10. Pay Per Click Marketing
Pay per click advertising is a great way o get instant traffic to your blog. Your ads can be immediately displayed on the first page of the search engine results pages. You pay whenever someone clicks on your ad. The key to making a profit is your return on investment (ROI). For example if your product price is $100, your cost per click (CPC) is 10 cents and you sell 1 item for every 100 clicks your profit will be by $90.00. Google, Yahoo and MSN offer pay per click advertising.
For more information read:
How to Set Up A Successful Google AdWords Campaign
The success of these traffic generating methods for blog marketing will vary for each person. Select 3 methods that work well for you then use them on a consistent basis. Monitor your blog statistics to view the increase in visits each month, where they are coming from and what keywords they are using to find your blog.
For more ways to attract traffic to your blog pick up a copy of my ebook:
101 Highly Effective Strategies to Promote Your Web Site