How To Choose the Right Keywords For Your Google AdWords Campaign

If you don’t choose the right keywords for your ads you’ll waste a lot of money on your AdWords campaigns. Many marketers make the mistake of placing a large number of unrelated keywords in one ad group. This means the keywords will be competing with each other for clicks. Keywords that closely match your ad copy will generate the most clicks.

How to Choose the Right Keywords

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Product Test Marketing Using Google AdWords

How do you know if your product will be profitable?
What keywords are people using to find your product?
What web copy will convert customers to buyers?

95% of marketers haven’t done any test marketing before developing their product. They invest a lot of time and money without knowing if it will be profitable. Instead of testing beforehand they continue to spend money on marketing hoping their product will fly.

One of best ways to quickly and easily test the profitability of your product is to create a Google AdWords campaign. These are ads that run down the right side of Google’s result pages. Google AdWords enables you to test specific keywords targeting a specific product.

Benefits of Google AdWords

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Dollar A Day AdWords Review – How to Maximize Your Profits Without Wasting Your Money

dollar-a-day-adwords
If you want to instantly attract targeted visitors to your web site, pay per click (PPC) marketing enables you to create ads that appear on the first page of the top search engines. This means you can start making sales immediately. Even if you don’t have a web site you can send visitors to an affiliate site and reap the rewards.

Most people that try PPC marketing often give up because they end up spending more than they invest. You can quickly and easily spend 100s or even 1000s of dollars and not see a profit.

Dollar a Day Strategy Case Study

Setting up my first Google AdWords campaign

When I set up my first Google AdWords campaign I wanted to make sales immediately so I made sure I got the top ad position in and set a high daily budget with the idea I would generate a lot of sales. Within a week I received 1000s of impressions, 100s of clicks but didn’t generate one sale. I used up all my budget which amounted to 100s of dollars.

I subsequently set up several more campaigns hoping to achieve success by doing extensive keyword research, tweaking and split testing my ads, however I still didn’t make any profit and ended up spending more than I invested.

Creating multiple campaigns with Dollar a Day Strategy

After getting the wind knocked out of my sails from my initial campaigns I read books and attended seminars on pay per click marketing. I was inspired by the idea of just spending a dollar a day to test affiliate products to market so I bought the Dollar A Day AdWords ebook.

Lessons learned from Dollar a Day Strategy

1. Test marketing

Before investing money in your campaigns test them. The Dollar a Day strategy enables you to test multiple campaigns at the same time without spending a fortune on your budget. Once you start making sales you have the option of increasing your bids and daily budget.

2. Keyword strategies

If the cost per click of your keyword is high you’ll spend your budget very quickly. With the Dollar a Day strategy you’ll learn effective keyword strategies that enable you to reduce your cost per click.

3. Write effective ads

You only have a few lines to make the visitor click on your ad and see your offer. The Dollar a Day strategy will show you how to write ads that communicate your offer to your customer and improve sales conversions.

Conclusion

If you want to maximize your profits without spending a fortune marketing your product on Google AdWords, learn how to test market your products, learn effective keyword strategies and write traffic pulling ads, pick up a copy of Dollar a Day AdWords.

I highly recommend it!

Google Ads – Small changes can generate large profits

The AdWords guru Perry Marshall often provides gold nuggets of information in his emails. I had to include this one in a blog post because it’s a keeper…information that you should be using every time you write new Google Ads. He shows you that small changes can generate large profits.

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Only a seasoned Google AdWords pro can appreciate the enormous difference that teeny tiny things make in your Google ads.

You’ve got 120 characters of space to work with, and *every* one of those characters matters. Every single one.

Case in point: Here’s a pair of actual Google ads and their stats:

Ad #1:
How to Write a Book Fast
14 Days from Start to Finish
Unique, Step By Step Program
Write-A-Book-Faster.com
CTR: 4.1%

Ad #2:
How to Write a Book, Fast
14 Days from Start to Finish
Unique, Step By Step Program
Write-A-Book-Faster.com
CTR 4.4%

4.1% vs. 4.4%. What’s the difference between the two ads?

If you look real close, you see there only difference is ONE COMMA. That’s it.

“How to Write a Book, Fast” out-pulls “How to Write a Book Fast” by eight percent. In one year that silly little comma saved me about $500.00 – because Google rewards you for writing ads that get clicked on.

People who’ve never tested this stuff have no idea how sensitive people are to little things like this. Here’s a short list of little hinges that can swing big doors:

-Verbs: speed up vs. accelerate, launch vs. catapult, endorse vs. champion, praise vs. honor, win vs. dominate, intimidate vs. terrorize, start vs. pioneer, turn vs. careen, kill vs. slay

-Capitalizing Or not capitalizing Any Particular Word

-ThisSite.com vs www.ThisSite.com

-www.CapitalizingPartsofTheDomainName.com

-www.ThisSite.com/SubDirectory

-www.SubDomain.ThisSite.com

-Metaphors…. like….

Will Your Wedding Be
A Carnival of Utter Confusion
Or the Happiest day of your life?
TheWeddingOintment.com

-Question Marks, Colons, Semicolons, Dashes -

Popular Ethernet Terms
Complex Words – Simple Definitions
3 Page Guide – Free PDF Download
www.BB-Elec.com

Sexually Transmitted Info
Warts, Herpes, Blisters, AIDS?
Symptoms – Diagnosis – Treatments
www.STDmisery.com

-Scare Quotes

Atheist “Logic”
A New Age Of Reason?
Or Just a Clever Shell Game?
www.AtheismDeconstructed.com

-Slashes and Parentheses

Mudflaps for Trucks
Ford / Chevy / GM / Toyota
(All Trucks, All Styles, All Sizes)
www.mudflapmadness.com

-Sarcasm

Spanish? Oh, Please.
Just What You’ve Always Wanted:
Another Dopey Spanish Program.
www.LoserSpanish.com

-The Gum-Smacking Teenager

Summer Camp? Oh, My Gosh.
Seriously, You Got to Check It Out.
It’s, Like, So Totally the Bomb!
www.TeenCampsMontana.com

Steamy Conversation

“Get Out Now” She Said
“I didn’t show you this” I replied
“Ooh Sam, now you’re talking.”
www.LastResort.com

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Google AdWords – How to Create a Profitable Campaign on a Low Budget

It’s very easy to spend large amounts of money on your Google AdWords campaign if you don’t plan a budget. If you only have a few hundred dollars to invest each month begin with a small budget ie $1/day. You always have the option to increase it if you want to spend more.

Example

If you only want to spend a $1/day ($30/month) on a campaign, look for inexpensive keywords. For example if your cost per click (CPC) is 10 cents you can receive up to 10 clicks per day or 300 per month. This is enough clicks to determine if the campaign will be profitable.

If your CPC is $1.00 you only need 1 click (or 30 clicks per month at $30.00) to reach your daily budget. You won’t have enough clicks to judge whether the campaign will be profitable so you’ll have to run it over 3 months to receive 100 clicks. This may be too long to wait therefore select keywords with a low CPC.

Strategies for creating profitable campaigns on a low budget

1. Research keywords your competitors aren’t using

Select a product then do extensive keyword research on it to find the keywords your competitors haven’t discovered. These may include misspelled words, negative keywords and combinations of keywords.

If you can’t find alternative keywords, use the same ones as your competitors but select a different product. You’ll avoid competing with them for the same item.

2. Create multiple low budget campaigns

Not every Google AdWords campaign is profitable. In fact only a few will generate enough profits. By observing data from running several low budget campaigns simultaneously, you’ll quickly see which ones have the potential to be profitable.

3. Track each campaign

Tracking your keywords allows you to see which ones generated the sales. I use the ad tracking software AdTrackz to track my keywords.

Conclusion

Creating multiple campaigns with a low daily budget prevents you from quickly spending all your money in a few days. It helps you to tweak the data you’ve collected over a long period so your campaigns will become profitable.

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Need help attracting visitors to your web site with Google AdWords?
Please visit my Search Engine Optimization Services

Adwords Secrets – 7 Ways to Resolve Inaccurate Display URL

So you’ve set up your Google AdWords campaign and activated it but then get a message from Google that your ads have been dissapproved due to “inaccurate display URL.”

Definitions of destination URL and display URL

The display URL is visible to the person viewing the advertisement, while the destination URL is the actual page the person will be directed to when they click on your ad.

For example:

Display URL: http://www.drostdesigns.com
Destination URL:

http://www.drostdesigns.com/google-adwords-tips-7-ways-to-tweak-your-campaigns/

How to Resolve Inaccurate Display URL

1. Check the accuracy of your links

The display and destination URLs should both go to the same web site. Test both links before submitting your ad.

2. Destination TLD must have the same TLD (top-level domain ie .com. .net, .org) as the display URL of your ad.

For example:

If the display URL is www.domain.com and the destination URL is www.domainstore.com you’ll receive the message ” Inaccurate Display URL”

To resolve this make sure the TLD is the same for both URLS.

3. For Sub-domains the top-level domain must match the URL of your landing page.

For example, display URLs such as the following:

sub.google.com
google.com/extratext
www.google.com/extratext

would all be acceptable for the landing page URL below, as the top-level domain of google.com is matched:

http://sub.google.com/miscellaneous

4. The display URL field cannot be used as another line of ad text.

The display URL field must only contain a display URL.

5. Your display URL must include the domain extension, for example: .com, .net, and .org.

You can’t shorten the URL by eliminating the domain extension.

6. Stay within the character limit

If your actual destination URL link is too long to use as your display URL, use a shortened version (such as your homepage) that meets the character limit for this field.

Example:
Destination URL:

http://www.drostdesigns.com/google-adwords-mistakes-to-avoid-top-7/

Display URL: www.drostdesigns.com

7. When direct linking the display and destination URLs can be different

When direct linking to an affiliate product the display URL must be the same as the home page of your affiliate product. The destination URL can be your affiliate link or tracking link as long as it redirects to the same page as your display URL.

For example:

Display URL of affiliate product page

http://www.isitebuild.com/websitepromotion/

Destination URL of affiliate product page using tracking ID

http://www.drostdesigns.com/at/go.php?c=websitepromotion

Tip
You can add a keyword to the end of the display URL if it fits within the character limit.

Resource

Google’s Display URL policy

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Need help attracting visitors to your web site with Google AdWords?
Please visit my Search Engine Optimization Services

Keyword Research Tools for Finding Profitable Keywords

If you don’t target the right keywords when setting up Google AdWords campaigns you won’t achieve a high click through rate or get many conversions. The keywords found from your research should be tightly woven into your ads and landing pages. The key to finding profitable keywords is to build a large list using the tools mentioned below, then select non-competitive keywords that contain a high search volume.

Keyword Research Tools for Finding Profitable Keywords

Google AdWords Tool

https://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal

Most AdWords advertisers use this tool however not many will spend time to sifting out alternative keywords with high search volume their competitors are not using. To check what keywords are being used for Google Ads, simply insert your keyword in Google. If you find a keyword with a high search volume with no ads running you may have a winner…only testing will confirm this.

Misspelled keywords

The Google AdWords tool also allows you to find misspelled keywords. Make sure there is a sufficient search volume before using them otherwise you won’t receive many clicks. Your competitors don’t often include misspelled keywords in their campaigns.

Thesaurus

http://thesaurus.reference.com/

This online tool helps you find keyword ideas you may not find with the Google AdWords tool.

WordTracker

http://freekeywords.wordtracker.com/

Use this online tool to generate up to 100 related keywords and an estimate of their daily search volume. You’ll discover keywords not found with the Google AdWords Keyword Tool or other keyword research software.

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/

Use amazon to find items related to what you are selling. You’ll often discover keywords you can incorporate into your campaigns.

Ebay Pulse

http://pulse.ebay.com/

This tool provides a daily snapshot of current trends, hot picks, and cool stuff on eBay. It helps you find what products are currently selling well.

Google Trends

http://www.google.com/trends

This tool reflects what keywords people are searching for on a daily basis and shows trends based on regions, cities and languages.

Online Encyclopedias

Online encyclopedias like Britannica and Wikipedia are trusted by readers and provide a valuable resource for finding profitable keywords.

Google Cash Detective

http://www.drostdesigns.com/google-cash-detective-software-review/

This tool enables you to quickly discover keywords top advertisers are using to run profitable AdWords campaigns. You see all the keywords they are bidding on, how long the ads have been running and and what ads and landing pages they are using.

Read the Google Cash Detective Software Review

Finding unique ways to research keywords for your AdWords campaigns helps you avoid using the same keywords as your competitors. Since your way is not as common as the normal way of finding keywords, chances are you’ll have fewer competitors which will assure a better chance of getting more clicks and making more sales.

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Need help attracting visitors to your web site with Google AdWords?
Please visit my Search Engine Optimization Services

Keyword Research – Benefits of Finding Profitable Keywords

One of the most difficult tasks of creating a profitable AdWords campaign is finding keywords that have few competing ads. If you can find alternative keywords to the ones your competitors are using to sell the same product you can run a profitable campaign.

Benefits of finding profitable keywords

1. Spend less money

If there are no or a only a few ads using these keywords you won’t have a high cost per click (CPC).

2. Find a different path to the sale

Instead of using the same keywords as your competitors you use alternative keywords to sell the same product.

3. Faster profits

If your keywords have a high search volume and your ad is the only one showing your profits will be faster than if you were competing with a full page of ads.

4. Avoid the double serving rule

If you write an ad that contains the same display URL as another ad that is already running on Google AdWords you’ll incur the “double serving rule”. This means your ad won’t get displayed until this is corrected.

A simple way to avoid the “double serving rule” is to research alternative keywords from your competitors. This enables you to create ads for the same product without worrying about the competition.

Read 7 ways to avoid the Google AdWords double serving rule

Since your way is not as common as the normal way keywords are discovered, chances are the words you find are not used by your competitors. Fewer competitors will you give you a better chance of creating a profitable campaign.

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Need help attracting visitors to your web site with Google AdWords?
Please visit my Search Engine Optimization Services

Google AdWords Tips – 7 ways to tweak your campaigns

So you’ve set up your AdWords campaign and the ads are beginning to get clicks. How do you keep tweaking your campaign for maximum profitability?

1. Split test your ads

If you only write one ad you won’t know if it’s your best one. For example your click through rate may be 1% on one ad and 2% on the other. You delete the lower performing ad then write another one. By continually repeating this process you increase your CTR and conversions.

2. Remove keywords that don’t get clicks

Delete or pause keywords that don’t receive any or few clicks and focus on keywords that receive the highest number of clicks. You can always create another ad group or campaign for low performing keywords.

3. Use exact match

Start off your campaign with broad match to see which keywords receive the highest number of clicks, then change their status to exact match to get more targeted visitors.

4. Make your ad more specific

By making your ad more specific you eliminate the tire kickers. You could still use broad match because the ad is very targeted.

Include your main keyword in an attractive headline. Include the main benefit in the second line, then tell them exactly what they will receive in the 3rd line ie ebook or product. Experiment with first letter capitalization for all the words in your ad. It’s been proven to increase CTR.

5. Create different ad groups for unrelated keywords

Only include closely related keywords in one ad group. For example create one ad group for services and another for your products. If 2 products are unrelated create a separate ad group for each of them.

6. Place a small amount of keywords in each ad group

If you place a large number of keywords in one ad group and you receive lots of clicks it will be difficult to determine which ones to keep. For example general keywords will easily receive more clicks than the specific ones. Start with approx 10-20 keywords per ad group then reduce them as you see which ones get the most clicks.

7. Do geographic targeting

Use Google Trends to determine which regions or states are the most popular then adjust your campaign accordingly. This helps to focus your ads only on areas of interest.

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Need help attracting visitors to your web site with Google AdWords?
Please visit my Search Engine Optimization Services

7 Ways to Avoid Google AdWords Double Serving Rule

If you write an ad that contains the same display URL as another ad that is already running on Google AdWords you’ll incur the “double serving rule”. This means your ad won’t get displayed until this is corrected.

Here’s what Google says about it:

“Google doesn’t permit multiple ads from the same or an affiliated company or person to appear on the same results page.”

Are there exceptions to this policy?

Exceptions are granted only in very limited cases. When reviewing requests, we focus on the preservation of a unique user experience for each site, and also take into account the following:

* The destination site for each ad offers different products or services (for example, a large manufacturer with two product sites, one solely for stereos and one solely for computers, both running on the keyword ‘electronics’)

* The destination site for each ad serves a different purpose (for example, one site focuses on product information only, and the other site focuses on product sale only)

* Any product overlaps for each ad’s destination site are not significant enough to affect user experience

* The pricing difference offered by each site is significant and based on the same criteria (for example, if one site includes pricing with tax, the other site must include pricing with tax)

7 ways to avoid Google AdWords double serving rule

1. Register an alternative domain

If you create an ad for a highly competitive affiliate product you’ll have a difficult time avoiding the double serving rule because you’re advertising the same product. Create your own landing page with your own URL and you’ll easily be able to position yourself above competing ads.

2. Get a free domain

If you don’t want to purchase a new domain for a landing page, use Google Sites or one of the free site creators ie blogspot.com, wordpress.com. It’s a great way to test a landing page before registering a domain name an building your own web site.

3. Become the highest bidder

If you bid higher than the highest bidder you knock them of their perch and you become number one. Keep in mind your cost per click (CPC) will be substantially higher than your competitors and you’ll need to monitor your ad to prevent others from outbidding you.

4. Redirect your URL and mask it

If you use Godaddy as your domain registration service they allow you to create a 301 redirect and mask your URL. The redirect allows you to use a different display URL which redirects to your affiliate URL. Masking allows you to add meta tags to this domain that includes your main keywords without having to create an actual web site.

Here’s how to redirect and mask a domain using Godaddy

  • Go to the domain manager and click on the forward tab.
  • Copy and paste your affiliate link then click on 301.
  • Go to the masking tab, click on masking enable and write a masking title.
  • Wait 5 minutes for Godaddy to set everything up.
  • Go to AdWords and fill in both the destination and display url…the same domain that you forwarded with Godaddy.

Now you don’t have to get into a bidding war with competitors and you can still do direct linking.

If you want to manually create a 301 direct read this article:

How to Redirect a Web Page Using a 301 Redirect

ShortURL
ShortURL is a free URL forwarding service allowing anyone to take any existing URL and shorten it.

If you don’t want to pay $10.00 to register a domain name at Godaddy get a shorturl at http://www.shorturl.com/. It also enables you to forward and mask your domains.

5. Affiliate Prophet Software

This software allows you to track your keywords to the sale and also captures the landing page to use on your own domain without incurring any penalties from Google.

You avoid the double serving rule because the merchant’s sales page will appear exactly as it is but the URL is on your domain.

6. Select a similar product

If you don’t want to do any of the above, choose a similar product which no one is advertising on Google AdWords. You avoid the double serving rule and don’t have to compete for the same product.

7. Create an iFrame

An iFrame frames the web page from another web site into your own web page. This means your visitor is actually viewing the content from another web site on your own web site.

Read this article on:
How to Create an iFrame

Note:
Sometimes Google won’t allow iframes to be used. If so, use one of the 6 methods mentioned above.

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